Tuesday, June 1, 2010


1898 - The capitulation of Spanish colonial forces led by Major Juan Enriquez to Filipino revolutionary leader, Captain Simeon Dionisio of Bataan province during the Philippine Revolution is formalized in Pilar town in the "Acta de capitulacion, Pilar, Bataan, 1 de Junio 1898";  the Act is certified by the Secretary Albino Reyes, with signatories including Capt. Dionisio on the Filipino side and Maj. Enriquez  who has supposedly witnessed the futility of further resisting the wave of Philippine revolution and has found it wiser to avert needless greater bloodshed.

No comments: