Friday, June 1, 2012


1898 - The capitulation of Spanish colonial forces led by Major Juan Enriquez to Filipino revolutionary leader, Captain Simeon Dionisio of Bataan province during the so-called second phase of the Philippine Revolution is formalized in Pilar town in the "Acta de capitulacion, Pilar, Bataan, 1 de Junio 1898"; the Act is certified by the Secretary Albino Reyes, with signatories including Capt. Dionisio on the Filipino side and on the Spanish side, Maj. Enriquez who has supposedly witnessed the futility of further resisting the wave of Philippine revolution and has found it wiser to avert needless greater bloodshed; one year and ten months earlier, the Filipinos launched the Himagsikan under the initial leadership of revolutionary President Andres Bonifacio y de Castro, Supremo of the underground-society-turned-revolutionary-government Kataastaasang Kagalanggalangang Katipunan nang manga Anak nang Bayan, in the bid to free their land from the oppressive yoke of Spanish colonization.

Raw photo credit:

No comments: