Sunday, September 12, 2010


1896 - The "Thirteen Martyrs of Cavite," Filipino members  of the revolutionary Kataastaasang, Kagalanggalangang Katipunan nang  manga Anak nang Bayan (KKK), are executed by Spanish colonial authorities at Plaza de Armas, near Fort San Felipe, Cavite City, 12:45 noontime; the 13 Katipuneros: Maximo Inocencio, Luis Aguado, Victoriano Luciano, Hugo Perez, Jose Lallana, Antonio San Agustin, Agapito Conchu, Feliciano Cabuco, Maximo Gregorio, Eugenio Cabezas, Severino Lapidario, Alfonso de Ocampo, and Francisco Osorio,  planned to launch a concerted uprising in Cavite province on September 1 (later moved to September 3-4) in the house of Gregorio but were arrested when their plan was discovered through a dressmaker named Victoriana Sayat and the resulting forced confessions from the initial arrests of Ocampo and Lapidario; after execution, the lifeless bodies of the patriots would be carried into a garbage cart, guarded by six rifle-and-bayonet-armed Spanish soldiers, and brought to the Convent cemetery at Caridad, with Gregorio, Cabuco, San Agustin, Conchu, Cabezas, Lallana, Lapidario, and de Ocampo to be dumped in one hole while the those of Inocencio, Osorio, Aguado, Perez and Luciano to be taken by their affluent families and be buried in separate coffins.

Photo credit:

No comments: