Monday, May 14, 2012

14 May

1935 - The colonial-era Constitution of the Philippines during the imperialist American ("Commonwealth") period is ratified by a plebiscite held after United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt certified it as conforming with Public Act No. 127 earlier passed by the US Congress; the 1935 Charter will serve as the fundamental law of the Philippines from 1935 and will be amended in 1940 and in 1947, two years after neo-imperialist America grants its colony "independence"; Claro M. Recto, who will be one of sternest critics of American colonial rule, advocating Philippine autonomy and removal of the US military bases, and the controversial parity rights that gives Americans the right to exploit Philippine natural resources, served as the president of the 1934 Constitutional Convention that drafted the said Charter; the Philippines fell under the Bald Eagle's imperialistic rule following the breakout of the bloody and protracted Philippine-American War (1899-1914) when the vile North Americans reneged on their promise to respect the independence of the Filipinos who already de facto won the Revolution against Spain and with Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo y Famy declaring Philippine Independence on June 12, 1899--developments that intersected with the Spanish-American War.

Photo credit:

No comments: